Never Go Back (Harry Barnett #3) by Robert Goddard


11 hours 40 mins, read by Joe Dunlop.

Description: For a group of ex-comrades, it is to be the reunion to end all reunions: a weekend in the Scottish castle where they were guinea pigs in a psychological experiment many years before. They haven’t seen each other since. But the convivial atmosphere on the journey north is quickly shattered by the apparent suicide of one of their party.

When a second death occurs, a sense of forboding descends on the group. It appears that the past is coming back to haunt them, a past that none of them have ever spoken about. Their recollections are all frighteningly different. So what really happened?

Then when one of them uncovers an extraordinary secret, he becomes convinced that they will never leave the castle alive…

The elephant in the corner is the change of narrator for this last book, it was not a good move for my shell-likes, especially when there was so much conversation calling for accent interpretation. Okay moving on, let’s talk about the book:

You could be forgiven for thinking this reminiscent of And Then There Were None, and it becomes clear just how important it was to read this trilogy in order – if the previous books have not been read the main two characters will seem a little 2 dimensional here as Goddard doesn’t spent time describing them all over again (thank goodness!). Winding up at a point where we all need to know about something called MRQS, we realise just how dangerous that quest was and still is.

Let The Good Times Roll- Ray Charles

Harry and Barry, that rhyming couplet.

4* Into The Blue (Harry Barnett #1) (1990) – re-visit 2016
4* Out of the Sun (Harry Barnett #2) (1996) – re-visit 2016
3* Never Go Back (Harry Barnett #3) (2006) – re-visit 2016

5* Past Caring (1986)
5* In Pale Battalions (1988)
3* Play To the End (1988)
4* Painting the Darkness (1989)
4* Take No Farewell (1991)
3* Hand in Glove (1992)
2* Closed Circle (1993)
3* Borrowed Time (1995)
TR Beyond Recall (1997)
4* Caught in the Light (1998)
4* Set in Stone (1999)
3* Sea Change (2000)
1* Dying to Tell (2001)
3* Days Without Number (2003)
3* Sight Unseen (2005)
2* Name to a Face (2007)
1* Found Wanting (2008)
TR Long Time Coming (2009)
TR Blood Count (2010)
WL Fault Line (2012)

3* The Ways of the World (The Wide World Trilogy #1) (2013)
WL Intersection: Paris, 1919 (2013)
TR The Corners of the Globe (The Wide World Trilogy #2) (2014)
WL The Ends of the Earth (The Wide World Trilogy, #3) (2015)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s