The Inspector McLevy Mysteries: Series 7 by David Ashton

bookshelves: spring-2015, series, radio-4, play-dramatisation, britain-scotland, edinburgh, victoriana, published-2011

Recommended to ☯Bettie☯ by: Laura
Recommended for: BBC Radio Listeners
Read from March 19 to 27, 2015

Description: New series of Victorian detective mysteries starring Brian Cox as Inspector James McLevy.

Leith Town Hall & Sheriff Court

Absolutely love these episodes, now in its seventh series. There is a grand chemistry between the radio dramatis personaes of Brash and McLevy. I do, however, urge you to read McLevy’s original writings. I think you will notice that he put away a fair few people that were suspect suspects.

Episode one: The Firebrand: McLevy investigates the kidnap of a women’s rights campaigner.

Episode Two: Dead Reckoning: Inspector McLevy investigates a curious case of grave robbing.

Episode Three: Prince of Darkness: Jean Brash is confronted by a former lover back from the dead. She had once poisoned him – fatally, or so she thought – and now he is out for revenge. Meanwhile, McLevy dreams of death by drowning. Is it a premonition or just the result of drinking too much coffee?

Episode Four: A Distant Death. McLevy’s dreams of death by drowning are about to become a reality when he and Jean Brash are trapped in a sea cave while the tide rushes in. Outside the cave a rifle marksman is ready to shoot them if they try to escape.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s