Havana Blue by: Leonardo Padura (author) Peter Bush (Translator)


BBC description: The first story in Padura’s much-loved detective series set in Havana. It’s New Year’s Day 1989 and Lieutenant Mario Conde wakes up with another terrible hangover and a case which is close to home – his schoolboy rival, now a party grandee, is missing.

Leonardo Padura’s series, published in English as the Havana Quartet, is set over the course of 1989 – starting with Havana Blue which opens on New Year’s Day.

Leonardo Padura is a novelist and journalist who was born in 1955 in Havana where he still lives. He has published a number of short-story collections and literary essays but he is best known internationally for the Havana Quartet series, all featuring Inspector Mario Conde.

In 1998, Padura won the Hammett Prize from the International Association of Crime Writers and in; 2012, he was awarded the National Prize for Literature, Cuba’s national literary award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s